Earth Day

April 22, 2013–

I originally was planning on going to the dinning hall for their Earth Day festivities.  However, once I got there, the main dishes they were serving were not edible in my opinion…like grilled alligator.  I settled on subway for lunch instead.  I was not giving up on accomplishing my “Earth Day task”.  I had told my boyfriend of my assignment and we decided to plant tomato seeds at my house off 10th street, where I would be living for the coming year.  I had planted tomato seeds about five years ago and grown them until they were a full plant.  It was really inspiring to know I cared for this plant (watered it, attached it to a post, put a fence type device to protect from the rabbits) and was the reason for it growing to its large size. My boyfriend and I decided to plant the seeds and hope when we return in the summer that we will be able to use the tomatoes on hamburgers and to make homemade salsa to celebrate their growth. 

Leave a comment